We’re Moving!

August 27, 2012 § Leave a comment

Watch out for flying garment racks!

The J. Crew Review is moving down the street (to a newer, brighter home with bigger closets to support our J. Crew habit). Our new home, titled The JCR Girls can be found at www.thejcrgirls.com {The J. Crew Review girls, get it?}

Here you’ll find the same great content and MUCH more to come soon! We’ll be doing some remodeling – updating the look and feel of the place to make everything much more enjoyable for our loyal readers. In the meantime, please pardon our dust and don’t step on any stilettos on your way out!

We’ll set up a redirect soon so that you’ll seamlessly transfer to our new place.

Thanks for your patience!

XOXO,

Martha + Jocelyn, The JCR Girls

Back to Crew

August 15, 2012 § 1 Comment

Fall is, in my opinion, one of the most stylish seasons. With temperatures comfortable enough to layer pieces without being hidden by outerwear, you can really let your personality come through. Although it’s bittersweet to see sweaters in store windows already, back-to-school time is the best excuse to stock up for a fresh start. J.Crew’s fall arrivals started trickling in in mid-July, teasing customers with perfectly preppy looks that it’s not quite time for yet.

J. Crew Review Blog - Fall Back to School Shopping

The most versatile must-have? A cozy cardigan in a neutral shade. Whether you layer it over a dress, pair it with a flirty blouse, or just slip it over a cami and Minnies for a comfy day in the library, you can’t go wrong!

J. Crew Review Blog - Fall Back to School Shopping

Next, let’s talk cashmere… specifically, the cashmere Tippi sweater. With a myriad color choices (seriously, we’re talking 5 shades of pink/purple) you can easily pair this with a fun necklace to stand out and still have your professor take you seriously (I’m talking to you, tube-top-in-class girl).

J. Crew Review Blog - Fall Back to School Shopping

What better way to show off the remnants of your bronzy summer skin than a pale pink popover? Tucked into rolled-up jeans and complemented by a neutral shoe, it’s a great casual look for running around campus. Add some stand-out earrings or switch the flats for heels to meet up with friends for dinner!

J. Crew Review Blog - Fall Back to School Shopping

A perfect all-American look for a chilly fall day: plaid shirt, jeans, boots, and a field jacket (a vest would be great, too!). Just grab your books and a latte and you’re ready to go!

J. Crew Review Blog - Fall Back to School Shopping

Here is another great outfit made up by three staples you can get a ton of wear from individually. If I ever have to meet with an advisor, a professor, or anyone else that I’d like to see me in a professional light, I like to dress up a little bit – but by mixing up a schoolboy blazer with a feminine top, the look is still young and fresh.

So, tell me, what’s on your list for back-to-school?

Xo

Diane

Seeing Spots

August 5, 2012 § Leave a comment

If you’re seeing spots while looking at trends for this autumn, don’t go to the doctor- it’s a good thing! Polka dots are taking over and we love it. If you are having trouble finding some dotted goodies to fill your closet with…you’re not looking hard enough, or at all! Whether you want to deck yourself out, protect your tech, or add a pop of fun to an ensemble, there are plenty of options for you to choose from.

Tops:

Seeing Spots Tops

1/2/3/4

Casual tops for a relaxing Sunday, cozy sweaters for crisp Fall nights and silky blouses for the office- J. Crew is dominating in the realm of spotted shirts. Love/need them all.

Bottoms:

Seeing Spots Bottoms

1/2/3

I think polka dot pants are so cute. I’m just not sure I could wear them- they are definitely the biggest statement when it comes to this classic trend. What are your thoughts? Styling suggestions? I would, however, feel completely comfortable wearing a cute dotted skirt to a family outing or the office while it’s still pre-tights season.

Dresses:

Seeing Spots Dresses

1/2/3

The best thing about the polka dot invasion is that everyone is taking part! The first and third dresses are both from Old Navy, believe it or not! If you’re looking for a piece that will last you for seasons and seasons (see the Kate Spade dress in the middle), it might not be the right place to go, but if you’re just looking to get in on the trend then the price is right!

Accessories:

Seeing Spots Accessories

1/2/3/4/5

If you’re not ready to fully commit yourself to the dot, why not just add a pop for some fun? Purses and scarves can add some visual interest to any ensemble, while a cute pair of socks or a fun pouch in your handbag are more of an undercover statement!

Tech:

Seeing Spots Tech

1/2/3

Where Crew owns the world of shirts, Kate takes the cake in tech protection. The JCR girls believe that covering your computer doesn’t have to be boring! These options are great because they will go with any outfit thanks to their black, white, and gold color schemes!

Footwear:

Seeing Spots Shoes

1/2/3/4

Family trip, running errands or dinner with the girls– any of the events packing your planner can be graced with pretty, polished touches leaving people thinking “how does she always look so good?”

What are your favorite polka dot pieces for (sadly) the end of summer and start of fall? Let us know on Twitter (@JCrewReview), or tag us on Instagram using the hashtag #CurrentlyCrewing to show us how you are wearing them!

xo

JD

August Style Guide Scan

August 4, 2012 § Leave a comment

So naturally this month’s Style Guide met my every excited expectation (after all, the fall preview is J.Crew’s strong suit). After leafing through all 135 pages the first time, what immediately tugged at my fashionista heartstrings? COLOR!, Jenna’s picks, Style Guide Tips, Twice as Nice, ladylike pleats, the prominence of polka dots… and who am I kidding? The list goes on…

Let me be the first to say that I am beyond excited color blocking is making its way into the fall season! And I am especially ecstatic about all of the beautiful jewel tones coming with it: light violets, deep blues, gorgeous jades… all very flattering and very feminine colors. My only suggestion to carry this trend into the colder months is to balance out a bright color (for example, mint toothpicks) with a more neutral or deeper shade (in cashmere or herringbone), just like on page 52:

J. Crew August 2012 Style Guide Herringbone and Yellow

I also very much enjoyed the Style Guide tips that popped up throughout this issue, and the Twice as Nice section in the middle. These two ideas are great ways to help clients better envision themselves in the pieces, provide insight, and offer other suggestions that clients may not think of themselves. Very helpful all around, J.Crew!

J. Crew Review Style Tip - J. Crew Blog
J. Crew Review Style Tip - J. Crew Blog

And for my last (but definitely not least!) favorite part of the Style Guide puzzle—polka dots! You can hardly go a page without seeing some form of pretty polkas. From cashmere to café capris, Naomi’s to Milas, this print is everywhere, and I am NOT complaining! As you will learn, I am a huge fan of pattern-play, aka sporting a little mixin’ and matchin’. Polka dots and stripes compliment each other very well, especially when paired with such chic pieces like on pages 3&4:

J. Crew Style Guide Polka Dot Shirts and Dresses Fall 2012

Even though there are too many things in the August Style Guide that I am drooling over, that is not to say I did a double take…or two.

First, dare I say it… fatigues. Yes, camouflage. I cannot say enough great things about the “Twice is Nice” section, except for no one should ever be given two ways to wear fatigues. They should be told to leave that for hunting and, well, never. I’m sure some of you probably think I am getting ahead of myself here, and I’d be lying if I said I didn’t have a camouflage skirt hiding somewhere in the back of my closet from my preteen days, but that piece only makes it out for theme parties. When I’m desperate. I think I’ve made myself clear.

J. Crew Style Guide Camo Fatigues and Tweed

Our second faux pas is a few short pages later, in the same Twice as Nice section (p.70)! However, I am not upset with the style idea suggested. I love navy, and am wearing the color at any given time, on any given day. But under the navy boyfriend jacket, we have a dark denim button down paired with dark denim matchsticks. This dark denim-on-denim fad is just a little to Village People for me. Believe it or not, attractive ways to pull off the denim-on-denim look can be done! Pair a light chambray button down with colored toothpicks and you’re good to go!

J. Crew Review of August 2012 Style Guide

Any pieces you’re dying over in this Style Guide? Did any leave you wondering what the heck J.Crew was thinking? Tweet the @JCrewReview with hashtag #StyleGuideScan and let us know!

XOXO,
AJ

_______________________________________________________________________________

The J. Crew Review Blog - Guest Blogger AJMy name is AJ! I am a 22-year-old fashion fanatic from the suburbs of St. Louis, Missouri. I am currently attending the University of Missouri—St. Louis, where I am pursuing a degree in public relations, and work part-time at the Crew as a Very Personal Stylist.

My style can be defined as classic with a kick of color. I love anything chevron or stripes. I feel naked without a third piece, and you can always find me in my toffee Lila wedges. I also completely agree with Jenna when she says, “it only takes one colorful item to make a grey day beautiful–or a bland outfit sunny.” Fashion is a way to express yourself, embrace it!

Follow my adventures on twitter at @smallstrand!

Take a Look…

July 31, 2012 § Leave a comment

Stripes on StripesPinks and PatternsPaddington Chic

Playful PopsClick the photos to view the looks in their full glory in the J. Crew Fall/Winter 2012 Lookbook and let us know which one is your favorite! Which ones could you live without? Tweet us @JCrewReview and let us know!

XO

Opposites Attract

July 29, 2012 § Leave a comment

A phrase often used in conversations regarding romance, and idolized because, hey, why wouldn’t you want to end up with someone who miraculously balances you out perfectly? I could never be a matchmaker of people given the fact that 99.9% of the time I am completely wrong about the outcome of relationships and who people will end up with. However, I could totally be a matchmaker of clothes, mainly because they don’t have a say in whether it works out or not. These are my favorite clothing couples (mostly all from the most recent “Looks We Love” on the JCrew site!) based off of my matchmaking philosophy that opposites not only attract, but look awesome together.

Pattern play

Stripes are like Type O blood. They can donate their amazingness to any outfit. Polka dots, anchors, camels…stripes will keep good company with anything you already have dancing around in your ensemble. This concept can work with other prints to, take gingham and polka dots for example. I think as long as you stick in the same color family you are safe. Reference example A and B below:

Looks We LovePattern Play

Shabby Chic

I don’t think I’ve ever used the term “shabby” to refer to something gross that I didn’t like, so I don’t mean gross stuff looks good with amazing stuff. I mean you can dress yourself up and dress yourself down all at the same time. Really! Skirts and Sperrys, silk blouses and boyfriend jeans, pretty dresses and jean jackets…you get the idea.

Looks We LoveLooks We Love

Masculine/Feminine

Borrowing from the boys has never been looked down upon by Crew or any good prepster for that matter. Making masculine pieces softer with feminine touches doesn’t have to be hard. In fact it can be as easy as throwing on a pearl necklace, a fabulous pair of heels or silky, shiny anything.

http://www.jcrew.com/womens_feature/lookswelove.jsp?intcmp=women_p2_looksweloveLooks We Love

 Are we forgetting any famous couplings that prove that opposites do attract? Tweet us @JCrewReview to let us know!

xo

JD

Style Crush: anne m cramer

July 20, 2012 § Leave a comment

be elegant. stay irreverent.
Anne M Cramer Collection via J. Crew Review

With a tagline, “be elegant. stay irreverent,” The JCR Girls can’t help being attracted to the brand, design aesthetic, fun prints and flattering fit of anne m cramer clothing. Listed among Anne’s “likes” are: coffee, sterling silver, jackie o, soft towels, satin ribbon, room service, french fries, black cars, dinner parties, nude nail polish, vintage pearls, pedicures, cashmere and chapstick. Things that JCR girls everywhere find distinctively delightful!

In addition to liking her as a person, we’re also obsessed with her line of classy and festive clothing.

Here are our favorites from the anne m cramer Collection:

Table Tennis Top
Anne Cramer Table Tennis Top via J. Crew Review

Shuffle Board Shift
Anne Cramer ShuffleBoardShift via J. Crew Review

Flynn Skirt
Anne Cramer FlynnSkirt via J. Crew Review

All images via annemcramer.com

Tweet us [@JCrewReview] your favorite @Annemcramer item OR tweet us your ideas for our next installation of “Style Crush.”

XOXO,

MM

%d bloggers like this: